Families Open to </br>
Adopting Your African American Baby or Child Families Open to </br>
Adopting A Baby or Child of Any Race Families Open to </br>
Adopting Your Bi-Racial Baby or Child Families Open to </br>
Adopting Your Baby with Special Needs

Meet Johan & Angela

A video message from Johan & Angela

Call or Text us
Send a message

A Letter from Johan & Angela

Thank you for taking the time to learn a little bit more about us and our lives. We believe adoption is something to be celebrated and want to discuss this openly from the very beginning with our child. We also think you are important and would be happy to share pictures, videos, and plan visits when possible if that is something you would like. We’re really excited to grow our family through adoption and share our life’s adventures with a little one.

About Us

Though we met when we were kids, it wasn’t until high school that we got to know each other at a boarding school in Africa. We started out as great friends and started dating at the end of Angela’s senior year. We dated for a year long distance, as Johan was in Holland and Angela was in California and now we’ve been married for 10 years.

Adoption has always been important to us and, after finding out we couldn’t get pregnant, this only further confirmed our excitement to adopt.

We’re a creative couple that likes to laugh, explore new places, and relax with friends. Our love for art, adventure, and the outdoors are some of the things we want to pass down to our children. We also look forward to small things like gardening together and picnics on the lake as a family.

About Johan

Johan is loving, driven and has always been there to support me, pushing me to be the best that I can be. I love the joy it brings him to help others, even if it means bending over backward.

Johan works for a software company from home which allows his schedule to be flexible for life at home. He loves to be creative and build with LEGO and wood, or with his computer.

I enjoy watching Johan play with my cousin’s stepson, as he teaches him new things and games. He will be a great dad who invests everything in making sure his children are loved, happy and fulfilled, giving them anything they need to succeed in following their dreams. He is excited to teach the baby everything and watching him or her grow.

About Angela

Angela is fun loving, nurturing, and artistic. She enjoys spending time with friends and family, glassblowing, ceramics, and painting. Most of all she is excited to be a stay at home mom.

Angela always looks to find the best in people, and has lots of patience. One of her favorite activities is spending time mentoring a group of disadvantaged and homeless kids as part of a church program.

Angela used to work as a nanny, and has dreamt of having a family of her own for as long as she can remember. Kids absolutely adore Angela, and I’m sure she will be the most amazing mom! She is most excited about loving on him or her and exploring the outdoors together.

Our Home in California

We live in a three-bedroom home in a community outside of town, with several acres of room to play. We have a cat, Mooki, and two dogs, Mishka and Zeal, who love children. We have set up and decorated a baby room and have a garden and fenced yard. There are many opportunities for outdoor activities, like hiking and going to the mountains and the lake.

Our Family

Angela’s parents have been married 36 years. She’s the eldest of four girls who love to get together as often as they can. Johan has two younger sisters and his parents recently celebrated their 31st anniversary. We try to visit Johan’s family a couple times a year. When we do, we like to play games, go hiking, biking and rowing.

Our parents live further away, but we live next door to Angela’s aunt and uncle whom we are very close with, and have other family nearby. Our families are very excited about a new addition to the family.

We grew up in multiple countries in Africa, coming home every few years. We’ve experienced different cultures and have many fun family traditions we look forward to sharing like Sinterklaas, building forts on Christmas eve, and more.

Our Promise

As parents, we hope to instill in our children the same Christian values that we were raised with and to help them understand who God is and His unconditional love for all of us. We want our children to know that they are loved no matter what.

We promise to give your child a safe, fun, and inspiring environment to grow as individuals with every opportunity to thrive. We will seek to make your child feel valued, understood, and important with the love and support from us as parents and our families. We hope to instill a love of adventure, learning, and caring for others. We promise to openly discuss adoption and would love for you to be a part of your child’s life, if you would like, through letters, videos, pictures, and visits.

To learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Johan & Angela

  Johan Angela
Our EducationAssociates Degree - IT ManagementAssociates Degree - Studio Arts
Our ProfessionsSenior Technology ArchitectArtist
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasianCaucasian
Some of Johan & Angela's Favorites
Favorite Outdoor Activitieshiking, swimming, exploring new places, gardening, paddle boarding, kayaking, picnicsstandup paddle boarding, exploring new places, hanging out with friends, taking pictures of everything outside
Favorite HobbiesInventing and creating things, drawing, graphic design, programming, building with lego, sculptureglass blowing, ceramics, photography, painting, coloring, building with legos
Favorite Pinterest Categories architecture, home design, robotics, anime, illustrationshome decor, recipes, diy everything, paintings, crochet patterns
Favorite foodslasagna, thai green curry, matcha ice cream, cheesecake, brownies ethiopian food, brownies, macaroni and cheese, chichen enchiladas
Favorite snacksdark chocolate, custardcaramel and chedder popcorn mixed, sea salt dark chocolate
Favorite color sunset colorsteal/mint green, purple, blue green
Favorite Season and HolidaySummer and summer vacationSummer and Christmas
More About Our Family
We live in the state of...

California. We have warm summers and cooler winters, snow in the mountains, and it occasionally snows where we live. We live just outside of town and know a lot of the community. There are plenty of outdoor activities, including hiking, going to the lake, etc.

Things We Enjoy

We both really enjoy Art. Johan enjoys graphic design, drawing, and building things. Angela enjoys painting, ceramics, glassblowing and sculpture.

We like traveling, and enjoy the journey as much as the destination.

We enjoy cooking, Johan does a lot of the cooking, and Angela likes to find and make new recipes.

Places We've Been

Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Mozambique, Uganda
Belgium, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands
Russia, China, Thailand

Places We'd Like to Go

Everywhere else. But at the top of the list are New Zealand, Australia, Japan, Brazil and Peru.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child



Absolutely! We would love the opportunity to adopt twins.


Any gender.

Ethnicity of ChildCaucasian, Hispanic, Asian, African American, Hispanic/African American, Hispanic/Other, Asian/Caucasian, African American/Caucasian, East Indian
Future Contact with Birth Family

We would love contact with the birth family if they wish this. We're excited to get to know the birth parents and share pictures, letters, and visits!

In Closing

Thank you for reading through our website and for taking the time to get to know us more. We promise to provide a stable home filled with love, laughter, and encouragement. We'll provide a safe, fun, and inspiring environment to grow as individuals with every opportunity to thrive. We're open to keeping in contact with you through letters, pictures, and visits, whichever you are comfortable with.

Call or Text us