Families Open to </br>
Adopting Your African American Baby or Child Families Open to </br>
Adopting A Baby or Child of Any Race Families Open to </br>
Adopting Your Bi-Racial Baby or Child Families Open to </br>
Adopting Your Baby with Special Needs

Family

Meet Nick & Carly

A video message from Nick & Carly

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from Nick & Carly

Hello from Virginia! We are excited to introduce ourselves and to get to know you. We have always had a heart for adoption and we are excited to be first-time parents. We are a Catholic family who enjoys spending time with our dog and our extended families. We love being outdoors, playing and watching sports, singing in our church choir, and playing board games. We look forward to sharing these experiences with your child and building a relationship with you over the years through letters, pictures, and visits. Thank you for taking the time to learn more about us!

About Us

We first met in graduate school and have been together for 6 wonderful years. We initially bonded on our long walks talking about our shared interests in faith, family, and adventure. We truly enjoy spending time together. We love staying active by walking our dog, running, weight lifting, hiking, and playing volleyball. We enjoy cooking meals together and talking about our day over dinner each night. Faith is central to our lives – you will often find us playing (Nick) and singing (Carly) in our church choir or teaching religious education. We also enjoy cookouts and board games with Carly’s family and cruising the lake when we visit Nick’s family in Wisconsin.

We have always had it in our hearts to grow our family through adoption. After our fourth pregnancy loss, we felt God directing our path to adoption and we are excited to welcome our first earthly baby into our family.

We are looking forward to sharing our passions with your child in a home filled with family, love, and faith.

Meet Carly

Carly is an amazing wife, woman, and partner. She is hardworking, outgoing, ambitious, loves having something to do every minute of the day, is energetic, and is wonderful with children of all ages. Carly is a Dietitian with a very flexible work schedule and plans to work part-time and from home when your child joins our family. She loves being around children; she was a swim instructor, volunteers at Sunday school activities, works with children almost exclusively in her job, and loves having our nieces and nephews around! Carly reads the bible, listens to a bible study podcast daily, loves singing and listening to worship music, and prioritizes our involvement in our faith community. I know she is excited to raise our child and share that faith with them through song and bible stories.

Meet Nick

Nick is a wonderful husband. He is patient, loving, silly, and understanding. It is a true joy to watch him play with our nieces and nephews whether at the playground, reading a book, or teaching them a new game. Nick is an excellent IT Project Manager and works a typical 9-5 job, but his work has always been very accommodating for our family’s needs. He is great at what he does and enjoys his work! He likes cooking, playing guitar, reading, playing with our dog, watching the Packers play, and being outdoors. He will be a wonderful role model for our child and is most excited to watch them grow and teach them to play sports.

Meet Our Family

All of our family is supportive of our adoption and there are many wonderful grandparents, aunts, uncles, and friends who look forward to welcoming your child into our family. We see Carly’s Mom and Step-Dad often as they live about 45 minutes away. We often meet for dinner, enjoy a barbecue with her siblings, catch up at holiday gatherings, and for special Mom and Carly days. Carly’s Dad and Step-Mom live in Florida. We enjoy their company while we tour their neighborhood on their golf cart. We usually end up at the lagoon or at the tennis courts! Nick’s family lives in Wisconsin. He has a large extended family that loves to gather regularly. We are usually there for one of the major holidays and try to visit in the summer for a nice long weekend at the lake.

Welcome to Our Home in Virginia

Our home is a three-story, three-bedroom home with a finished basement. Our nursery is already in progress! We have a two-level deck that backs up to a walking path and trees. We enjoy spending our evenings on our deck grilling or having a campfire and making S’mores. Our neighbors are very friendly and many of them have young children of their own. Our surrounding neighborhood has walking trails, playgrounds, tennis and basketball courts, and swimming pools. Our favorite park and playground is about 10 minutes away and we can be found there most weekends with our dog, Audie, our 8-year-old mini Australian Shepherd. We’ve had him since he was a puppy and he is very well behaved with kids. He loves to walk, run, hike, play frisbee, and snuggle.

We Promise...

We promise to love your child as our own. We will teach and model for them a life with faith at the center. We promise to respect their unique interests and encourage them with unconditional love and support. We promise to raise your child to know and love their personal story. We promise that you will be spoken of with respect, love, and appreciation within our home and to maintain contact with you as much as you feel comfortable with.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Nick & Carly

  Nick Carly
Our EducationMasters of Information TechnologyMasters of Science
Our ProfessionsIT Project ManagerOutpatient Dietitian
Stay-At-HomeNoPart-Time, but will work from home
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasian/WhiteCaucasian/White
Some of Nick & Carly's Favorites
MovieThe PrestigeHarry Potter Movies
HolidayChristmasChristmas
SportFootball and BaseballVolleyball
Outdoor ActivityHiking and KayakingHiking
Vacation SpotLakeAnywhere with family
Family ActivityCampfire and Yard GamesBoard Games
DessertIce Cream with ChocolateCherry Squares
More About Our Family
Our Faith

We are Catholic Christians. We believe in the Trinity - God, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit. We try to create time and space in our day for the Holy Spirit to guide our daily life as we navigate our marriage, our family relationships, and work situations. We believe in the importance of "filling our cup" with our individual and community-based faith practices. Nick likes reading non-fiction books that challenge his thinking like "The Catechism" and "Christ Actually". Carly enjoys reading the Bible daily. We also pray before meals and attend bible studies as a couple to keep Christ at the center of our lives.

We love our local Catholic Church and attend weekly. We love singing with some of our closest friends in the Young Adult choir while the remaining of our church friends are in the pews singing right with us - Nick also plays guitar! Additionally, Carly teaches faith formation to our church's youth members and loves to see young children learning more about our faith. We look forward to encouraging your child to grow in faith by teaching them these individual practices and including them in our church family.

Our Pet

Audie is our 8-year-old mini Australian Shepherd. He is very special to us! We enjoy bringing him with us on any trip we can - whether it's to go hiking or visit family. He enjoys being active throughout the day playing frisbee or going on a walk and finishing his day with family snuggles on the couch.

He has been around small children and has always been well behaved around them and enjoys herding kids to keep them all together. It's so fun for us to watch our nieces and nephews throw his frisbee and get excited when he catches it.

Family Traditions

Some of our traditions include:
- Long hikes at National Parks (we hope to visit them all)
- Trip to Nick's family's lakehouse
- Fall Festivals and Pumpkin Patches
- Carly and her Mom baking Christmas cookies for the extended family
- Nick volunteering at Badger Boys State
- Attending Easter Vigil Mass and Christmas Eve services
- Family Vacations
- Board games

Things We Look Forward to Doing with our Child:

- Reading with them
- Teaching them to pray, read the Bible, and receive the sacraments
- Being active with them/playing sports
- Baking Christmas Cookies
- Taking them for boat rides
- Having family board game night
- Seeing them play with our nieces and nephews
- and so much more!

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Our Age Preference

Newborn-12 months old

Open to Twins/Siblings:

Twins: Yes!
Siblings: Yes. We are open to adopting up to 2 children, up to age 3.

Our Gender Preferences

Either gender

In Closing

Thank you so much for spending time getting to know us. We look forward to walking through this process with you and welcoming your child into our family. We are so looking forward to growing our family through adoption and sharing life’s adventures with your child. We want to share these special moments with you and are open to photos, calls, letters, or visits. Love always, Carly and Nick

Call or Text us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.